Good for GM, Good for the Country?

Posted in Uncategorized by DCroy on 1 June 2009

I wanted to mark their passing but I couldn’t find a straight up GM ad in my Fortune, so this will have to do. 

GM Only

GM Only

I might have to add another category to the companies from 1934: the dead, the agglomerated, and now, the government-owned. I’m not anti-government in any way, but I just can’t help but think that we’re headed to Trabant-style centrally planned Fiatillacs.  

By the way, Fisher is now reduced to making one model of transit bus. Which is just depressing in a way. From Harley Earl to this. Yippee.

 

A bus.

A bus.

 

 

Again, I don’t blame the engineers or the designers. I blame the marketers. I wish an actual journalist would dig up the marketing reports that foisted such crappy cars through the hierarchies of GM and out the other end. I have a funny feeling a lot of innovation never made it past the tracing paper stage because of those reports. But that’s just me (and yes, I’m sure there was some macroeconomic shit flying around too, but I’m a designer not an economist, so).

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. marlinco said, on 9 June 2009 at 7:53 am

    Nice Trabi link.


Leave a Reply

